The institute
FEMTO's news

You are here

FEMTO-ST : 2 full professors appointed to the IUF in its class 2022

Ausrine MARGUERON-BARTASYTE and Daniel HISSEL are among the 164  national laureates appointed to the Institut Universitaire de France (IUF) by the Minister of Higher Education and Research

The mission of the "Institut Universitaire de France" is to promote the development of high-level research in universities and to strengthen interdisciplinarity.

A total of 8 teacher-researchers in Burgundy-Franche-Comté  Region (6 at the University of Franche-Comté and 2 at the University of Burgundy) have been nominated for the class of 2022 for the exceptional quality of their scientific work and their research project. This nomination grants them, as of October 1st and for a period of 5 years, additional means and time to develop their research activity, while continuing to carry out their activities in their home university.

Within the framework of their research work at FEMTO-ST Institute are thus awarded

Ausrine MARGUERON-BARTASYTE, Professor at the University of Franche-Comté, as junior member of the Innovation Chair for the realization of advanced material architectures for the next generation of acoustic filters and sensors, energy harvesters, actuators and photonic integrated devices.

Daniel HISSEL, Professor at the University of Franche-Comté as a senior member of the Innovation Chair for his pioneering international research on diagnostics and increasing the durability of hydrogen energy systems.


Discover the list of all members promoted in2022 


  • Two Best Paper awards at Photonics West

    Mathilde Hary and Maxime Romanet win two of the 5 awards for best oral presentations at the world's leading optics-photonics conference

    Read more
  • John Dudley awarded EPS Prize for Research into the Science of Light

    This award – jointly with Goëry Genty from Tampere University – recognizes their pioneering contributions to ultrafast nonlinear fibre optics.

    Read more
  • Michaël Gauthier, new director of FEMTO-ST

    A new team is taking over the management of the institute for a 5-year term starting in January 2024.

    Read more
  • Nadia YOUSFI STEINER awarded the Blondel 2023 medal

    This medal recognizes the decisive contributions of her work on the resilience of fuel cell and hydrogen systems

    Read more
  • Maxence Leveziel wins CNRS robotics thesis award

    His work has led to the development of a miniature robot capable of manipulating micrometric objects at unprecedented speeds.

    Read more
  • Thibaut Sylvestre elected Optica Fellow 2024

    Thibaut is one of the 129 newly elected Optica Fellows, honored for his pioneering contributions to fiber optics and fiber lasers

    Read more
  • New Academic Year for the EIPHI Graduate School

    200 new students join its 16 international master's programs in 2023-2024

    Read more
  • Two best student paper awards for Ishamol Labbaveettil

    Awards for her PhD work on KNbO3 films

    Read more
  • Dissociating Nitrogen Molecules Using Silicon Atoms

    Researchers from FEMTO-ST have just demonstrated a novel process for dissociating nitrogen molecules through low-energy footprint processes, a crucial step towards the decarbonized production of high-value-added molecules.

    Read more

    An innovative tumor model on a microchip to fight brain cancer

    Read more