The institute
FEMTO's news

You are here

Two best student paper awards for Ishamol Labbaveettil

Awards for her PhD work on KNbO3 films

She received the first one at the European conference EuroCVD-Baltic ALD (major international conference in the field of chemical vapour deposition), held in Leuven, Belgium, 29 May - 2 June 2023, and the second at the summer school of the French national network ELNANO "Elaboration of nanomaterials for the recovery, conversion, transport and storage of energy", held in Aussois, France, 11-16 June 2023.

Ishamol Labbaveettil is doing her PhD in the PiezoMEMS group (Time & Frequency department) on the growth of KNbO3  thin films by liquid injection CVD and their characterisation.

KNbO3 has exceptional piezoelectric and electro-optic properties, but it is not available in the form of large crystals.  Thin film growth is also far from routine due to major challenges related to difficulties in controlling the volatile K₂O composition in the films, poor physical properties of the grown films and their irreproducibility. Chemical deposition methods allow easier control of volatile components than physical deposition methods. However, reliable K precursors for CVD are not commercially available.

Ishamol Labbaveetti has demonstrated controlled K composition inKNbO3  films using advanced metal-organic precursors (synthesised by collaborators at the University of Catania). This enabled the growth of high quality epitaxial KNbO3 films with good ferroelectric properties. This opens up new possibilities for the development of new generation electro-active devices in the fields of micro-acoustics, electro-optics, actuators, sensors, etc.

Contact : Ishamol Labbaveettil

  • Laser nanofabrication: nanopillars emerging from sapphire

    Femtosecond lasers are well known for their ability to cut materials with extreme precision and texture surfaces. A FEMTO-ST team has achieved a world first, opening up a new use for these lasers.

    Read more
  • Best paper award on BIOSEC 2024

    Raniya Ketfi, Zeina Al Masry, and Noureddine Zerhouni have been awarded the Best Paper Prize at the 17th International Joint Conference on Biomedical Engineering Systems and Technologies

    Read more
  • Mayra Yucely Beb Caal awarded "Female Science Talents Intensive Track Champion 2024"

    A PhD student in FEMTO-ST's micro and nanorobotics team, she is one of 20 talented women from 15 countries, each making a significant contribution in their scientific field.

    Read more
  • Two Best Paper awards at Photonics West

    Mathilde Hary and Maxime Romanet win two of the 5 awards for best oral presentations at the world's leading optics-photonics conference

    Read more
  • John Dudley awarded EPS Prize for Research into the Science of Light

    This award – jointly with Goëry Genty from Tampere University – recognizes their pioneering contributions to ultrafast nonlinear fibre optics.

    Read more
  • Michaël Gauthier, new director of FEMTO-ST

    A new team is taking over the management of the institute for a 5-year term starting in January 2024.

    Read more
  • Nadia YOUSFI STEINER awarded the Blondel 2023 medal

    This medal recognizes the decisive contributions of her work on the resilience of fuel cell and hydrogen systems

    Read more
  • Maxence Leveziel wins CNRS robotics thesis award

    His work has led to the development of a miniature robot capable of manipulating micrometric objects at unprecedented speeds.

    Read more
  • Thibaut Sylvestre elected Optica Fellow 2024

    Thibaut is one of the 129 newly elected Optica Fellows, honored for his pioneering contributions to fiber optics and fiber lasers

    Read more
  • New Academic Year for the EIPHI Graduate School

    200 new students join its 16 international master's programs in 2023-2024

    Read more